To Battle! Final Round? (3)

Round 3

I think I am going crazy. While investigating the flying creature in my back yard, I felt like I was in some adventure game. I made it through level 1 and 2 but now have to find a way to kill the enemy that stands between me and level 3.

Anyway, http://pestcontrol-at-home.com/Ants.html clarified the issue somewhat: “During mid to late summer, newly hatched queen and drone (male) ants will leave the nest en-mass. These ants are winged and are commonly called “Flying Ants”. Theses ants will mate whilst flying – show offs! And shortly afterwards the males will die, the queens will return to earth, shed their wings and look for a suitable place to start a new nest.”

Ahhhhhhh, that explains the bunch of undetermined wingy-thingies we found the other morning. It looked like wings, but we laughed about the idea. The thought seemed pretty stupid. ‘What insect would go without wings,’ was our reasoning. Well now we know!

In a forum I read that the flying ants look very similar to little wasps, so I am just going to assume for now that they are indeed flying queens looking for a new place to settle. Something I desperately want to avoid.

So, how to defy flying ants? On the above named website, there is nothing on how to kill them in flight. I tried my mosquito tennis racket, but the queens are too small. I tried squashing them between my hands, but they are too quick. I stumped on a few of them, but they just crawled back in a hole. I tried to cover up the holes, but they just made new ones… I had to resort to my last option: poison. Even though the aforementioned website says it will have little effect, it just made me feel better.

I guess all that is left to do is wait for them to start again and then boil up the water again or try that insecticide first? I am not sure how long I have before the nests are in full order. Probably not too long, judging by the events of about 5 days ago.

For now I will call the battle undecided. And I was so sure I was going to win it.

2 thoughts on “To Battle! Final Round? (3)

Leave a Reply

