We got Mail!

We are settling into our new house and new country. We have been busy doing the things you do when you move into a new house, such as unpacking boxes, drilling holes, figuring out where stuff needs to go and finding a place that sells toilet paper. There’s one box left, but I’m sure we’ll get to that at some point.

Our Xmas tree right after the first string of lights blew out...

Our Xmas tree right after the first string of lights blew out…

We still miss Mexico, but slowly we are starting to see the great things about Singapore, such as the mail. It actually works here. If you send something to us, we will receive it. If we send something to you, we are confident you will receive it. The proof is actually in the mail right now, so we’ll see how long it takes to get from here to most other continents. That’s right, we even sent our Xmas cards.

Well, admittedly, we had a short list this year. In Mexico we didn’t worry about any addresses or any lists on our computers that contained addresses, because we didn’t need them. We can now not remember where we left them; I even had to look up my parent’s address in the phone book. Therefore, if we couldn’t’ find your name and address online somewhere we are really sorry, but better luck next year.

This is what fun-mail looks like!

This is what fun-mail looks like!

I have to say that it is really great to receive mail, fun-mail that is. We are now of course also receiving bills and that novelty wore off really quickly. But last week I received a package from my parents and it was really wonderful. It was full of Sinterklaas and Xmas gifts and I had forgotten about how exciting it is to receive mail. One of my resolutions is that I’ll send out more this year. I’ll need your addresses though, so email me with your address if you’d like to keep in touch the old-fashioned way. Seriously!

For this year I’ll leave you with my favorite commercial on Singapore tv at the moment. I’m not sure if they broadcast this one elsewhere, but it makes me laugh every time I see it.

Maybe it has to do with the fact that I really miss good avocado’s, one of the few things I haven’t found yet!

A very merry Christmas and a very wholesome 2014 to all of you!

7 thoughts on “We got Mail!

  1. Merry Christmas to both of you. I enjoy hearing what is happening in your life. Calgary is very cold but looking Christmasy at least! Wishing you a wonderful holiday season and a healthy & happy new year.

  2. Hoi Pleun,
    Ooit gelinked las ik jouw kertgroet. Heel lang geleden zijn we collega’s geweest bij Rijnhaave. En heel toevallig las ik vandaag jouw mail. Reis je een beetje de hele wereld over? Ik begrijp dat je bent geland in Singapore. Blijf je daar? Werk je daar? Nou ik wens jou een hele fijne feestdagen ennu wie weet tot ‘meels’.
    Warme groet uit een druilerig Nederland van Marion Scholtes-Kerkhofs

  3. I am horrible with my e-mail and reading what is in my in box…. I saw this and remembered your story – our paths crossed on RS Jacobson’s blog and you and I wrote to her son at camp…I remember when my dad and step-mom moved from Paris to Venezuela in the early 90s…. mail took for ever.. I love getting mail, but I’ve let my correspondence fall behind… here’s to a great new year of keeping up with correspondence and e-mail, and keeping all of the juggling balls in the air!

    • Hi Clay, I remember that letter to Tech and now I realize how much fun it must have been for him as well. I think it’s a great resolution for 2014! Let’s go for it :-)

Leave a Reply

